Accidental Coriander and Bacon Frittata

I think this might just be the best thing I have ever cooked. Ever.
I don’t know how it happened, but I suppose hunger does that to a girl. Survival etc.

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset
All day I had been looking forward to left over curry (I have a bit of a weird thing for cold curry. I am convinced, and I am fully aware I am alone in this, that it tastes better). It was that super-excited, get-me-through-today kind of excitement for this left over curry, and I got home only to find my mother eating it. Heartbroken.
Anyway, I trotted over to the fridge to explore potential meals. Why is it when you’re hungry the fridge always seems really empty, no matter how well stocked it is??? I’m trying to reduce my carbs at the moment so bread, rice, pasta etc were all out. What I did have were eggs and my new Le Creuset pan thing so the only logical conclusion was frittata! Not that I have ever made frittata before, hence the surprise that it takes the the crown as Best Thing Ever. So, I give you bacon frittata, starring my new favourite herb, coriander…

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

1 Shallot (chopped)
2 rashers smoked bacon (Chopped – lardons would also work(I am afraid I am going to insist on the smoked variety. It adds to the taste and makes you think of summer campfires and friends and s’mores))
1 clove garlic (crushed or chopped)
3 eggs (or as many as you want. At least three though)
Milk
Salt
Pepper
Fresh Coriander
A few cherry tomatoes
Parmesan Cheese
Avocado (optional)

Crack the eggs into a jug or bowl, chuck some milk in (about 200mls but the exact quantity isn’t overly important) along with some salt and pepper, and whisk with a fork. Leave to one side for later.
Pour about a tablespoon of oil into a pan and turn to a medium heat. When hot, turn down the heat slightly, add the bacon and stir for a bit until it looks cooked and is starting to leave a residue. Add the shallot and continue to stir. You really do not want this to stick. When the onion is looking soft, add the garlic and cook for another minute or so.
Turn the heat off but leave the pan in place popping in the tomatoes and ripped coriander. Try and make sure there isn’t an abundance of ingredients on the very edge of the pan. Pour egg solution in and put into the oven for about 15 minutes. When the eggs are set, cooked and coming away from the edge, remove from the oven and sprinkle freshly grated parmesan (or pecorino) over the top. I served this with an avocado. When I say serve, I mean I cut an almost-too-soft-but-just-right avocado in half and munched the entire thing with my frittata. I guess you could share this but…it’d be a struggle.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

2 thoughts on “Accidental Coriander and Bacon Frittata

Leave a Reply

